Weighty challenge:

It is the most important day of the year!  It is the beginning of our next weight-loss challenge.

If you are interested, please note the following about the friendly competition:

1.  Each month, I will send the winner of that month a present (winners determined by percentage of loss).  I don’t know what I’ll send, but I give good gifts and I am generous to a fault.  Then again, I’d like to win each month, too!  HA!

2.  Weigh in today.  It is just for reference, so that you start watching what you eat for the first real weigh-in on Saturday.  Just check in on my weekly posts and let us know how you are doing.  It would also be a help if you kept an update in your sidebar (that’s up to you, though).

3.  BE HONEST!  While I’m not requiring you all to publicly broadcast your weight, you won’t help yourself if you are not being honest with yourself.  This is about you and your health.

4.  Remember that if you need encouragement, a tip, a pat on the back, or a Twinkie intervention (in my case it will be a french fry intervention), you can email me, post a comment, or find someone in the group with whom you can communicate.

5.  The challenge ends Saturday, June 20th.  It is a marathon, but it gets us through almost all of the holidays and it gives us a good amount of time to meet our personal goals.  There will be a special prize at the end for the overall “winner”.  However, you are already winners by wanting to improve your health.

****If you are not a part of the group listed below and would like join us, by all means do so.  Just leave a comment.

9 thoughts on “Weighty challenge:

  1. French fry intervention at your service here RT. Anybody who needs a cheerleader or just wants someone to bitch, moan and whine to is more than welcome to holler at me.

    Good luck to all you guys and dolls!!

  2. Thanks! I went to my endocrinologist today and he was quite happy with my progress. 🙂 YAY!!!!!

    My blood pressure was even 110/70! WOW! Hasn’t been that good in at least 10 years.

  3. I’m up two from my July weigh-in. It’s all good. If that is all I’m up after what I’ve eaten the past two weeks, I’m a lucky girl.

    My doctor asked me today how I’ve lost so much weight (he knows how I kept gaining even when I was trying to lose–see him every six months). I told him that there was this little group I belong to that challenged each other. That was the key, and I really think it is. I don’t live with someone who is going to say, “You know, I care about you …..blah blah blah.” (Not that my mom doesn’t care, but she’s dealing with her own stuff, and we’re eating buddies. That formed our bond when I was really little–remember it clearly. She loses that bond and she gets a little weird.)

    If I don’t want to look incompetent and like a failure in front of someone, I rise to the challenge. I might not be the best, but I give it my all and work really hard. That applies to the weight-loss challenge, too.

  4. Pingback: The Return Of Fatty McButterpants | Support Your Local Gunfighter

  5. I sure wish I read about this before I fried two eggs, covered them in cheese, slapped on two slices of greezy bacon and put that inbetween two butter dripping bagel slices then inhaled it like an etheopian. But what the hell, I’m still game… I’m going to have to go on a cerveza intervention for that is how my weight has been applied… ahhh… beer…

    Ok… scales says… oh crap, it broke.

    …an hour later and a trip to K-mart and…

    218.2

    My wife wants to play too but refuses to have her progress documented… I ain’t gonna push the issue either…

    Thanks RT! Let’s get it ON!! …uhh I mean… OFF!!

  6. You both are welcome to join! I don’t post my weight. It is too scary. If I ever reach my goal weight, I’ll post my update pics with their corresponding weights.

    Just be honest. That’s all. 🙂 Good to have two more along for the ride.

  7. Pingback: Weighin’ in « RT’s Ponderings

Leave a comment