Sunday Song

2 Corinthians 5:17-20
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.

About 20 years ago, on Easter, I gave my life back to God. At times, it has been hard for me to just lay the things that cause me shame or dislike about myself, at God’s feet. However, there is a time when you (meaning me) have to acknowledge how it beats you down and leaves you mentally and spiritually exhausted.

I reached that point a year ago. I was backsliding, because I thought I had all of the answers about how I should live my life. I didn’t.

I asked God…okay…I said, “Fine! Blah, blah, blah. . .” Not so nice, but we can go to God in utter frustration, even if it has been caused by our own sinful nature.

How did God repay my sin? Well, after some repentence, God answered some prayer (that I will not discuss here), and He started a year-long process of helping me to realize how He is guiding me and loving me.

He’s been good all 43 years of my life, as He has protected me from so much, even as far back as the day of my birth. God continues to protect me, because even when I fail or when others do things to take advantage me, I know God is ever-present and will rule the day.  I never need to keep a “tally.’  That’s God’s job.

He has forgiven me, has given me a new life, has amazing things ahead for me in the future and I proudly say that I love Him, even though I know He loves me more, because He is my provider, protector, healer and sustainer.  I could never be these things on my own, nor could anyone else ultimately embody these roles for me.

The past 20 years have seen a few broken hearts, illness to the point of temporary disability, and great financial need. The past 20 years have also been ones of great blessing…college, friends I could never in a million years expect to have and a job that a lot of people in my neck of the woods would jump through fire to get.

The most important thing, though, is that God loves me and will never turn His back on me.

Leave a Reply

