Sunday Song

John 3:16-18
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

1 Corinthians 13
If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.
And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

So, unless you have been stuck in a cave somewhere, you might have noticed all of the hearts hanging around stores and such. Even the Christian radio stations I listen to are all abuzz with everything Valentine’s and lurve. (I sometimes think that my brothers and sisters at the Christian radio stations forget that they have terminally single and childless people listening to their stations–had to switch the station a few times this week to escape it all.) But I digress–before I even get to my point. Geesh.

I heard a song last night that I wanted to use for my “Sunday song”; however, I couldn’t find it, because I don’t know who sings it. But, while I was searching, my path crossed “God’s not dead” by the Newsboys.

Sadly, people see God as a myth. There are times when I tell God that I need to “see” Him. I think we all feel that way from time to time. We are human. The one thing that remains, even in my weakness, is that I KNOW God is real and that He is alive.

Because of His reality, we have been blessed with the ultimate display of selfless love: Christ’s death and resurrection. Without the resurrection, we would not have life. God’s willingness to hand over His son for our benefit is true love. We can never show each other more love than God has ever shown us. (So stop putting pressure on each other to do so.)

All the heart-shaped boxes and roses in the world cannot top the love of our Father.

Every good gift is from God: Christ’s sacrifice, the provision He places in our lives for our well-being, and the people He puts in our lives for us to bless and to love…His outward love toward us should be seen in our own actions, so that we can be an extension of His love…oh, but I digress, again.

Okay…on with the song.

Leave a Reply

