SUNDAY SONG

Philippians 4:4-9
4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

Proverbs 4:23-27
23 Above all else, guard your heart,
for everything you do flows from it.
24 Keep your mouth free of perversity;
keep corrupt talk far from your lips.
25 Let your eyes look straight ahead;
fix your gaze directly before you.
26 Give careful thought to the paths for your feet
and be steadfast in all your ways.
27 Do not turn to the right or the left;
keep your foot from evil.

Ever grow weary? I hate to admit when I feel weary, because it makes me feel like a failure, like I’m not trusting in God enough, like I’m not showing enough faith to believe He has everything under control–I know He does, but that is how I feel when I get world weary.

Today, I am posting two passages, which might not look that related from the outset, but the more I thought about it, the more I think I can make a connection. When we get anxious, maybe because God is silent and we feel that silence like a ton of bricks, we tend to lean on our own reasoning skills as to why–maybe even before God has answered a specific request made in prayer–in his time.
In Philippians it says that when we concentrate on God, and make our requests known, then we do not have to be anxious. (Trust me, I know from personal experience that this is a hard one.)  Then, in Proverbs 4 it states that we need to keep our eyes on God’s path for us, watching for all of the things that could cause us to stumble…guarding our hearts from various types of heartbreak in the process.

See…they are so related, because if we steady our eyes on God, do not manke decisions out of anxiousness, do not allow the distractions of the world get to us and our walk with God, He is there–listening, putting His perfect will and timing into place, and we are in place to receive those things, rather than off in the metaphorical wilderness somewhere.

This is hard for me, lately. I’m not going to lie. However, I find when I trust God more, the more I feel some spiritual warfare hitting me, so I guess that is normal. I just have to keep reminding myself of God’s power, His perfect will, and of His perfect timing….and wait…wait some more…and not allow the distractions that would trip me up, get to me.

Leave a Reply

