PROVERBS 1

Solomon was REALLY rich, but when he asked God for something, it wasn’t for “more”–he requested wisdom.

Lately, I’ve been praying for God’s clear direction on some things…somewhat asking for wisdom to see and to know God’s direction. So, when I was thinking about a new Bible study, Proverbs came to mind. I once spent a semester in Bible college. Yes, a lackluster experience, because I was trying to work full time, and I was attending classes full time. It was a recipe for disaster, trust me. But, I do remember one assignment required for an “orientation” type of class: we had to journal Proverbs for a month. So, I thought, with a clearer mind, I’d do that here on the blog.

If you want to join in and/or have anything to add, please feel free. I am by no means an expert, so discussion is so welcome.

Proverbs 1:
In Proverbs 1 we are given a brief overview of the importance of seeking wisdom and are provided with warnings about who not to follow, and from widsom, herself we are given warnings about not being fools…to put it plainly (wisdom is given the female pronoun…interesting, and I wish I had the capacity to study that, as the “world” likes to purport that women are ignored or not given any power via Christianity and the Bible…uh…lots of strong women, and with wisdom’s strength…maybe that is why it receives the feminine pronoun).

Verses 20-33 are given the sub-heading of “Wisdom’s rebuke”. As I read it, I couldn’t help but think about our own modern, global society.

We have people who mock and hate clear knowledge, instead siding with flimsy/tenuous pursuits and theories, often clinging to them as if they were the ultimate truth in life. Frequently, common sense and wisdom are right in front of our noses, but we edge toward the shortcuts in life.  For example, think about the otherwise smart folks who hear about, or get taken-in by, schemes that promise quick fixes, either financially or physically, only to leave people wondering what happened to their well-being.

Then there is the ultimate of not fearing the Lord. We often see the shameless and arrogant attitudes of those who espouse disbelief in God, His precepts and most importantly, His power. I’m sure all of us at some time, and to some degree, are guilty of not standing in awe of God’s power, only to realize that we’ve relied on our own “understanding” too much.

Now, wisdom says, “Then they will call to me, but I will not answer; they will look for me, but will not find me.” However, there is a power greater than Wisdom, and that is my comfort…God says, no matter what, we can call on Him, and He will hear us. God will make Himself real and present, never turning His back.  That is why, 20 years after I studied Proverbs as part of a class in college, had my spiritual ups and downs, I can return to a study of wisdom…God’s grace allows it.

But, we should still take our lessons from Wisdom, as what “she” says is true:

30 Since they would not accept my advice
and spurned my rebuke,
31 they will eat the fruit of their ways
and be filled with the fruit of their schemes.
32 For the waywardness of the simple will kill them,
and the complacency of fools will destroy them;
33 but whoever listens to me will live in safety
and be at ease, without fear of harm.”

So, I’d say this is a pretty good reason to do a study of Proverbs. A little Wisdom, and reminders in the noggin, when our common sense seems to begin to fail, can never be anything but good and fruitful.

Leave a Reply

