RUTH 4

Well, I’ve finally made it to the fourth chapter of Ruth. It has taken me a while, that’s for sure.

So, as I’ve said before in other posts on Ruth, I am looking at this book in a way that requires me to go beyond the obvious story of man meets woman.

So here it goes…the bringing together of two people, by the divine matchmaker, who in His more than infinite wisdom put them together to bless them and most importantly, to use their blessings to bless others, especially through their descendants. (We are not in relationships for ourselves; we are in them for what we can bring to the other person in blessings…and to jointly bless others, too. But, I digress.)

I think the best part of the commentary I read states. . .

“Boaz is ready to act in the capacity of kinsman-redeemer. Ruth is to wait and let him be the one to make all the arrangements. He is the one now who will step out into the open and claim her, actually jeopardizing everything he has and everything that he is. But he wants her; he loves her.This is the great message of this book: redemption is a romance; because God loves us He redeemed us” (McGee 78).

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about how much God loves me and that He only wants what is best for me. It honestly has made it less painful for me to be patient and wait for things…not waiting with angst, but in all honesty (even though I have a moment here and there–okay, a day) I finally believe some things while I wait, because of who God is, because of His power to do anything we ask and then some. It has taken me almost 20 years to get to this point. Better slow to arrive to the party than to never arrive at all.

Taking that thought and then combining it with McGee’s just proves to me how much love God has for me. He wants to redeem me. What a wonderful thought!

Additionally, we have to wait on God, as Ruth waited. We have to allow God the time and the space to work in situations or in people. We can’t force things. We have to allow God the respect He deserves. After all, when we do allow God room to work without our impatient disruptions-almost like an “Are we there yet?” kind of whine-then He will do things. And as I stated about blessings…when God is given the opportunity to bless us, so that He is glorified, then we can take those blessings and without reservation, share them with those that God places in our lives.

Hope you all have a blessed evening.

(The text referenced is J. Vernon McGee’s History of Israel: Ruth. I highly recommend his commentaries. They are written with some wit and are very informative.)

*Please note that I wrote this while nodding off and dealing with the tiredness of the day. Sorry. Hope everything makes sense.

One thought on “RUTH 4

Leave a Reply

