SUNDAY SONG

2 Corinthians 5:17-18
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation.

Ecclesiastes 3:11
He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

I think to some degree, we all struggle with thinking had we made better choices in life, we’d have less wreckage to deal with.

I know I do.

Sometimes when we look at our lives we feel we don’t have much to show for it. When I was younger, I used to look at my poor decisions and how they stunted my growth from a world view: didn’t have a house, didn’t have any savings, didn’t have a real career or education. Well, I have those things.  And they are blessings for which I can never truly relate how grateful I am.  But even with those things, I must still look back at the trash heap my life once was.  Out of all of it, God provided so many blessings and chances to grow.  He provided a life wherein I thrive and do not wither.  The world will always find something to judge, but God will always use my deficiencies to glorify Him.

Those are the reasons to look back–to see how far I’ve come and to realize and acknowledge, that it wasn’t me improving things and giving me beauty out of the ashes of my life, it was and still is God.Simply, God has taken the areas of my life that were so destoyed and created something beautiful. Many people in my life discount my efforts, my successes and usually still think of me as that messed up punk of a kid and young adult.  I am so grateful for God seeing past all of that–even still working in me.   He sees us in ways others can never see us, because you know…they are wiser than God. /snark.

God will take anything, even something that equates a landfill of a life and turn it into something wonderous and beautiful.

My only hope is that God continues to bless me, so that I can bless others.

3 thoughts on “SUNDAY SONG

  1. MomE:
    Thank you. Your presence in my life has been nothing short of a blessing. (I read the Psalm, slowly…thank you for that.)

    NFO:
    I know, but I often wonder what would have been had I not slowed up things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

