SUNDAY SONG

Matthew 24:36-44

“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son,but only the Father. As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. For in the days before the flood, people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day Noah entered the ark; and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. That is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. Two men will be in the field; one will be taken and the other left. Two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left.
“Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come. But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.

I wasn’t sure how to address this weekend’s Sunday song. Frankly, I’d like to avoid the topic of the erroneously forcasted coming of Christ; however, I feel I should address it.

When I was little, my mom used to listen to Family Radio. While there were some genuinely good men who were good teachers/pastors who had their ministries on the station, I never liked Harold Camping. I don’t know if it was his voice or my inner-ick-meter, but I literally felt scared to go to sleep if I was still up to hear his radio show at night (my mom and I shared a bedroom, so I couldn’t escape it).

Jump to this weekend.

In the Bible it says that even Christ doesn’t know when He will return—Only God, the Father, knows. Yes, we will have signs, but we will also have our everyday lives to live and those routines will continue, even with the signs.

What the Bible doesn’t say is that you can specify a date and time for Christ’s return. In fact, it says quite the opposite.

What upset me the most about all of this was that Camping made my faith a joke. Literally. While I never believed that God would make the foolishness of man look like wisdom and commence the rapture, I do believe that it will happen at some point. When? I HAVE NO IDEA…and I don’t want to know. It would make the heartache I feel for those I pray for even worse.

There is something we can take from this mockery of God: A good, long look and self-inspection of our relationships with God. Have you made promises and vows to Him that you have not kept? Did you give your life over to Him, only to take the steering-wheel back and live a life that would not be pleasing to Him? Have you turned your back on the one relationship where all of the emptiness and areas of lack could be filled by the One who has everything to give you? (The past few months, I’ve taken a long look at my own life. It/I was a mess, and I am so glad I can just give it all to God for His work, His good, and to experience His forgiveness. I’m no better than ANYONE on this planet.  None of  us are.)

It is our choice to accept or reject Him. However, if we reject Him, we have to be ready for the consequences of a life and eternity without Him, His love, His favor and without the blessings that await us in Heaven.

So. Did you make jokes about the rapture? Will it be such a joke when it does happen in the blink of an eye and you are left behind?

Yeah…didn’t think so.  Just something for you all to ponder.

If you give your life to God, will you be the epitome of perfection? No. Will there be no more doubt in your mind? No. Will you always do what you feel God wants you to do, based on His Word in the Bible? No.

None of that will cause you to lose the love and the gift of salvation that God has for you.

You just have to accept it.

3 thoughts on “SUNDAY SONG

Leave a Reply

