Learning that I’m not that strong: Sunday Song

2 Corinthians 3:5
Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.

Psalm 62:1-8
Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.
How long will you assault me? Would all of you throw me down—this leaning wall, this tottering fence?
Surely they intend to topple me from my lofty place; they take delight in lies.
With their mouths they bless, but in their hearts they curse.
Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.

Often, I find myself very anxious. It has been a life-long battle. Recently, though, I have been trying very hard to just give that all over to God. It isn’t easy. The easy part is saying it, but the hard part is truly doing it. This week was another attempt at handing over things to God. I realized that I was able to do it in an intellectual way, but when it came to truly handing things over and trusting God with it all, I failed. Then it came to me: I wasn’t depending on God. I was still allowing my circumstances to control how much I trusted that God would take care of things. Instead of depending on God and knowing His power is enough, as He has demonstrated so many times in my life and the lives of others, I still kept fretting, because of the humanness in the circumstances. It was quite a moment when I finally learned that last night on my drive home.

God is above everything. He truly does have the power to do anything and everything (and then some) we ask of Him and what He purposes. So, we’ll see how I do this week. As I’ve said numerous times, I’m far from perfect, and I am quite a work in progress. It was comforting to finally realize this flaw in my thinking, though, because I believe it is going to help me to be still and know that God is in the details of EVERYTHING.  I’m not all that strong; my tendency to be anxious is proof of that.  I’ll gladly give it to God.

I love how God continues to teach me things (gently) and allows for my own growth. He never gives up on me, and I am so humbled and appreciative of that fact.

3 thoughts on “Learning that I’m not that strong: Sunday Song

Leave a Reply

