SUNDAY SONG

I have been scrolling through old posts.  This one is from March 2011 – I still believe and have hope in God.  This past year has been one of deep, sorrowful lows, but with a promise of blessings.  While things seem so hard and dark right now. I have to believe that God’s faithfulness will power through the muck.  God is my never-bending refuge from storms. When everything around me feels so out of control, I know God controls everything.

Nahum 1:7

“The LORD is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him…”

Lately, the world seems to be experiencing more distress, whether it be by man or nature, than we have seen in our lifetimes.  It is scary.  All of these things are beyond our control.

We do not have power to control the huge things in life; we also do not have all of the power and control we think we have even in our day-to-day personal lives.

When I think about the poor people in Japan, I think about how they were going about their everyday lives:  working, loving, praying, eating, sleeping, shopping, caring, etc. . .  These are things we all do, but do we give thought to the next second?  No…we aren’t wired that way.  The events of the past few weeks remind us how little we are and how much we do not have within our grasp to control.

The only one with any of the power we think we have even .01 oz. of, is God.

There have been a couple of times in my life when I have lost everything:  financial stability, employment, and a large portion of my health…once due to a car accident and another to undiagnosed issues leading to bigger issues (still coming back from that one).  Those were very isolating times; wherein, I was reminded that I cannot control anything (aside from my own behavior).  During the first bout of these issues, I came across the verse I have posted for today’s Sunday song.  Fifteen years later, it is a verse that still means a lot to me.

God is good.  He will become real to many people through all of the strife that we see going on in the world.  However, God does not need the “big” world events to show Himself.  If you seek Him,  and if you ask Him to reveal Himself to you, He will.

Have a wonderful day, and remember to count your blessings.  Pray for those around the world facing hardship, because it could just as easily be us.

One thought on “SUNDAY SONG

Leave a Reply

