SUNDAY SONG & A BIRTHDAY

Today marks Ronald Reagan’s 100th birthday. A lot of people are recollecting his time as president and the resulting legacy.

People differ in their opinions, but this is for certain: He was a good man who did the best he could for our country. He entered office at a time when our country’s morale was at its lowest in a long time. I was pretty young, but I remember the hostage crisis like it was yesterday. I remember the days we could and could not get gas based on our car’s license plate. I remember that my mom was one of many who contributed to the high unemployment rate, because the bomb casings factory where she worked closed. Reagan entered dealing with his predecessor’s morass of issues.

Reagan was the president of my teen years. To me, he wasn’t some old dude in the White House. He was strong, because we needed him to be. He was sly, because we needed a guy who could out-slick those who wanted to harm us. He wasn’t afraid of the “line-of-death” in the sands of Libya. He was our voice of somber reflection when the Challenger exploded and when the Marines’ barracks in Beirut was struck by terrorists. While he was certainly not a perfect man, he was the right man at the right time.

I pray God blesses us again with another such man or woman. We need that blessing. I challenge you to remember our country in prayer, if not every day, at least once a week. The world is a scary place right now, with great change on the horizon. We need God’s hand of protection and provision over us.

In honor of President Reagan’s birthday and my desire for God to bless us as a nation, my Sunday song is a little different, but heartfelt. The words are a good reminder of how blessed we are. We should never place our pride in front of God; simply, we can never match His power or His plans. We need to pray for His presence in the midst of our nation’s challenges.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

2 Chronicles 7:14 (New Living Translation)
Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.

5 thoughts on “SUNDAY SONG & A BIRTHDAY

  1. Oh, this was great! Thanks for the good reminder! I have been several times to the Reagan Library in California. It is always inspiring.

  2. Pingback: The Reaganator « RT's Ponderings

Leave a Reply

