One of those….well, one of those take your pick.

It has been a rough month for me.  It has been a rough couple of weeks, and today was just pushing me over the edge after not getting home until past 10 p.m. last night.  I’m a little frazzled and a lot meh.  Sometimes, I actually try to hide it, but I don’t think I’ve been doing a very good job of it (only those who talk to me away from the blog would know, anyway).

Tonight just seemed to be “it,” though.  I was in a store and found myself ready to melt into a  puddle as soon I walked in.  I had to stop to pretend I was staring at my shopping list and play around with my cell phone (so glad for those things…hasn’t always been that way).

So…when I went to work, today, all I wanted was a hug.  I needed a hug.  Folks at work give hugs every now and then.  No hugs, today, and I have a hard time reaching out in an affectionate manner at times.  Just afraid of crossing boundaries and irking people.  Anyhoo, I just wanted a hug.

I bet this guy would give me a most amazing hug!  🙂

Keith Anderson–“Somebody Needs a Hug”

5 thoughts on “One of those….well, one of those take your pick.

  1. My last day of preceptorship was insane. I felt like all the gaskets were gonna blow at once & blow big. I walked up to the maintenance man and asked if he knew where the straight jackets were kept, because I was pretty sure I needed a hug. Before I knew what was going on, he had both arms around me about to squeeze my eyes out of the sockets, telling me I was going to make it & it was all going to be alright.

    Funny, considering I was only making a joke.

    But ALL the folks at that facility were that way. Ready to hug you & prop you up when needed. Most of the time, if folks know you really need a hug, they’re more than willing to come running.

    Here’s a big virtual ((((HUG)))) from me to you.

  2. Thanks. 🙂 We lost one of our co-workers in a very tragic and graphic way, and some days are okay and many are very hard, especially when the long hours creep up. He was always the one that made us feel better and made us laugh. There are some photos of him in sight of my desk and I’ve sitting looking at them wondering why. It’s been hard. I try not to look at them, but lack success in that a lot of the time. On top of that, the powers that be, because of mandatory state monitoring (happens with all schools) has dumped a whole slew of news rules, policies, and changes on us. It is all just too much at one time. To be honest, I’ve cried all the way home a few times this week. Just so fried.

Leave a Reply

