SUNDAY SONG

Matthew 22:37-39
Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’This is the first and greatest commandment.And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”

I’ve been on the judging end of Christians. I’ve had people distance themselves from me and think things based on my past, that might be or not be true because of their own perceptions and their not bothering to ask.

I know what it is like to sit in a church and feel completely alone.

I know what it is like to struggle and be thought of as weak because of my struggles.

All of these are reasons why I have had issues with folks in the church. Within the past year, though, I’ve been blessed to find a good church where folks are not as quick to judge. However, there are far too many “Christians” who spend their time judging, trying to do God’s job for Him, rather than loving as we are commanded.

We were forgiven and allowed an opportunity to not be condemned by God. Who are we to think we can judge and condemn?

Last I checked, no one died and left me to be God. 

This is an area I’ve been working on a lot over the past year, myself. The next time someone faces trials and even maybe public humiliation, ask yourself, “Who am I to judge?”  It doesn’t mean you are agreeing with his or her behavior, but maybe there is something inside that needs your love or at least an area that you need to pray about for that person.  Life is hard enough.  We don’t need to constantly measure others against ourselves…none of us is perfect.

How often do we forego love because we are prideful, afraid of rejection, and because we don’t want to get involved?  No wonder our streets are filled with cynics.

“Somebody Like Me”–Jason Crabb

Leave a Reply

