Sunday Song

Psalm 91:14-16

“Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

He will call upon me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble,
I will deliver him and honor him.

With long life will I satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”

(To read all of Psalm 91, CLICK HERE.)

One of the most wonderful things about the Bible is that it contains God’s promises.
God doesn’t take promises lightly. There is even a warning about not breaking oaths and vows, especially if
they are made in God’s name.

Have you ever been on the receiving end of a broken promise? It can lead to a lot of disappointment. If the same person
continues to break his or her promises, a lack of trust develops, and you will find it hard to believe him or her in the future.

I think that’s why folks have a hard time believing God at times. We get so hung up on how others treat us and the disappointments
that come along with human, Earthly relationships. Then, when we read the Bible and see His promises, we can’t believe someone would
actually follow through and keep His word. He does, though. Time after time, God keeps His promises.

I know this is an area I struggle with, and I have to constantly remind myself that God is who He says He is. He is the same in Genesis,
Acts, and Hebrews: performing miracles, speaking to our hearts, healing relationships, mending our bodies and psyches, and most importantly,
loving us.

“Safe”–Phil Whickham with Bart Millard

3 thoughts on “Sunday Song

  1. Even if we have trouble getting our minds around the promise..we can have faith in the Promiser!! He never fails. Have a great Sunday RT.

Leave a Reply

