Someone not contributing to the smog in LA

To me, this story is a breath of fresh air:

Neal McDonough is a marvelous actor who elevates every role he plays, whether it’s in Band of Brothers or Desperate Housewives. So when he was suddenly replaced with David James Elliott 3 days into the filming on ABC’s new series Scoundrels earlier this week, there had to be a story behind the story. The move was officially explained as a casting change. But, in fact, McDonough was sacked because of his refusal to do some heated love scenes with babelicious star (and Botox pitchwoman) Virginia Madsen. The reason? He’s a family man and a Catholic, and he’s always made it clear that he won’t do sex scenes.

I generally do not watch television shows that focus on hyper-drama and sex.  For one, I’m too tired and stressed at the end of the day to really get into fictional drama.  Secondly, I really don’t want to watch people doing things that would amount to adultery and such, as stated in my Bible.  Now, I know kissing isn’t adultery, but think about what it leads to a lot of the time and the impure everything else that goes with it (impure outside of marriage).  Well, in short, that’s why I don’t watch that kind of stuff on TV.  I probably haven’t for about two years.  I’ve been trying to clean up my act, so-to-speak.  I’m not perfect, but I am trying as best I can to “not go there”.  Sometimes the brain does, but like I said, I’m not perfect.

Rarely in Hollyweird do we see folks standing up for principles that don’t include the wacky cause of the weak (sic) or rationalization of unchecked behavior.  These are folks engrossed by fantasy, what do you expect?

It is just nice to see an example of someone trying to adhere to his faith and his marriage vows.  (Now, let’s hope he doesn’t turn into Tiger or Jesse, because it could happen to just about anyone.)

I realize he might support things I never would…who knows?  However, it is refreshing to see that someone has principles.  So many these days, in every walk of life, do not.

4 thoughts on “Someone not contributing to the smog in LA

  1. Any clown can go to a protest or endorse a cause, but risking one’s career for one’s beliefs shows real commitment. My hat is off to Neal McDonough for having the stones to do that. Apparently, he’s not the typical vacuous Hollywood phony.

Leave a Reply

