Clay Bond

No man is an island.  entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as if a manor of thy friend’s or of thine own were;  any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.

John Donne–“Meditation XVII 

When I received the email from Wyatt about Right Wing Professor’s passing, I thought of John Donne’s words in “Meditation XVII”.

It seemed fitting of the blog-world we find ourselves inhabiting at times.  While I’ve only met a few, I have gotten to “know” even more just by reading their blogs.  We all become family in some way–a part of each other.

When I first started blogging I read Clay Bond’s blog once in a while.  He had passion for his views, cared about others, and exhibited a love for his life.

I didn’t have to meet him to know he was a good person.  However, reading Wyatt’s remarks on his blog about Clay, on a few occasions, led me to believe he was a quality person.

Then, a few short months ago, Wyatt informed me of Clay’s illness.  I felt quite sad.  It is very hard to see friends hurting, because those they care for are hurting.  It is also hard to see anyone go through such hard circumstances.  However, it was during this closing chapter in Clay’s life that he taught one last lesson in courage.  He was willing to share his fears, frustrations, and most importantly, his faith.  He faced what he knew was awaiting him quite bravely. 

While I did not know Clay, I feel his loss.  Donne’s poem is quite poignant.  You see, we are all part of each other in some way.  We need each other and we owe it to those who go on before us to live a full, well-lived life; wherein, we love others and forgive others for their failings, as we have many of our own. We don’t walk through life alone. 

Rest in peace, Clay.  Your friends and family are in my prayers.

If you would like to offer your condolences to Clay’s loved ones, you may do so HERE.

