What’s in a name?

I hated my given name as a teenager.  It just seemed boring.  I rarely met anyone with my name, but given the alternative of Marjorie that my mother had picked out for me, after Maria was nixed, I guess I had to admit that my given name wasn’t so bad.

However, I wonder what I would change my name to if given the chance.  I know my last name would be shorter.  It is not that I don’t like my surname; it is just a pain to write.  Maybe I’d bolster the population of those with the name of Smith.

A new first, name though, that would take really careful consideration.  I think Annamarie is pretty.  I fell in love with the name, because it is the full name of Mama Brown, one of my grandpop’s waitresses.  I loved her…well, why do you think I called her Mama Brown?  Other than that, though.  I have no clue what I’d do.

So…imagine you are a teenager with a very normal name, you have $20, and you find a service that will change your name for you.  Enter Captain Fantastic!

A British 19-year-old has officially changed his name to “Captain Fantastic Faster Than Superman Spiderman
 Batman Wolverine Hulk And The Flash Combined.”

The Glastonbury, England, teenager — originally named George Garratt — said his new name, which is thought to be the world’s longest, has so outraged his grandmother that she is no longer speaking to him, The Telegraph reported Monday.

(H/T:  UPI)

While the youngster thinks he has chosen an awesome name for himself…he has set himself up for failure, now hasn’t he?

(P.S.  Don’t forget to go see who won this past week’s caption contest.)

3 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

