R.I.P. Captain Lou Albano

a acaplWhen I was a young kid and into my teens, you could always find me watching the WWF.  I even watched Vince McMahon’s “chat” show.  I loved the over-the-top stories and personalities.

One personality I loved was Captain Lou Albano.  He was nuts, but as his star rose outside of the ring, it became obvious that he was a kindhearted soul.

He started as a tag team wrestler in the 1950s but became a successful manager of champion wrestlers in the 1970s, according to a biography on the WWE Web site.

Albano was recognizable by his penchant for unbuttoned Hawaiian shirts and a trademark beard, which was usually bound by a rubber band.

His persona earned him the distinction of “one of the most hated men” in wrestling for 15 years, the WWE biography said.

Albano’s image evolved in the 1980s, when he teamed with Lauper on several music videos, such as “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” and wrestling appearances.

As his celebrity status grew, Albano landed acting jobs, including a role on several episodes of the “Miami Vice” TV series, the biography said.
(H/T:  CNN)

No doubt there are folks who loved him and who will miss him.
Rest in peace, sir.

Here is Albano with George “The Animal” Steele:

Albano and Roddy Piper…the ’80s…need I say more?

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. Captain Lou Albano

Leave a Reply

