Sunday Song

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. – 1 John 4:9-11

Thursday night, I received a phone call about the sudden death of a colleague.  To say I was in shock is an understatement.

She was a lovely person.  She has a wonderful family.  She cared so much about helping others.

I’ve been thinking a lot over the past few days.  It is so important to tell people you love that you love them.  I dare say I have never really said it to anyone.  I said it to my grandmom a few months before she died.  I used to write it on the landing leading to a door, for my mom to see.  I think I said it to my dad when I was 10.  I’ve never had the opportunity to tell a man that I love him.  Things always seemed to end before they really got to begin.  However, I was wondering if I was blessed with that, if I’d withhold those words out of fear of rejection.  I would hope not, because as I stated, it is important that we allow people the blessing of knowing they are loved and cared about, whether in a romantic relationship or in a familial relationship…or even our friends.  When things like this happen, though, I realize, too plainly, that I don’t really tell people how much they mean to me.  In reality, though, they mean so much more than I can express.

I wish those words never got stuck in my throat.

I dare say that my colleague never had that problem.  Her loved ones were very dear to her and she let them know it.

Sometimes we learn lessons through times of hurt.  I think we owe those that go before us lives well-lived and lives of making sure that those we love know we love them.

“My Savior, My God”–Aaron Shust

2 thoughts on “Sunday Song

  1. So well put. Although I tell my husband and boys “I love you.” all the time I didn’t come from a family like that. It is definitely something that takes practice!

Leave a Reply

