Moment of Clarity

ponderYesterday, I had a very strong iced-coffee.  I know that sounds so mundane, but I ended up pulling an all-nighter for no reason.  While I was dealing with the anxiety issues that accompanied the caffeine, I made some decisions.  Don’t worry they aren’t crazy ones, just ones meant to help me improve things a bit.

1.  Because of the move, I have fallen out of some good habits.  I’ve still lost a few pounds, but I could be doing so much better, given the amount of exertion I put in at the gym.  I’ll be going back to my hardcore eating strategies.  I will let myself have something “bad” once per week, rather than about the three that I am averaging right now. I had more soda and chips (leftovers from my party) this past week than I have had in the past six months.  Not good.  At least with eating all of the leftovers (aside from the chips), I managed to not have any fried food this week.  My weight went down three pounds for my efforts.  (Usually fried food = fast food, for me.)

2.  More visits to the gym and physical exertion.  I hate to sweat, but our bodies are designed to sweat.  I’ve only been going to the gym when I have sessions with my trainer.  I need to go on my own, even if I don’t push myself as hard as he pushes me.

3.  Develop a proper sleep schedule.  During the summer I naturally sleep from 1:00 a.m. until 9:30 a.m.  That’s when I feel most rested and alert.  Since I can’t do that during the school year, I will have to train myself to go to bed early and hopefully sleep from 8:00 p.m./9:00 p.m. until 3:30 a.m. or 4:00 a.m.  (You wonder why high school teachers are so grumpy?)  That also means that I need to stay at work until 5:00 p.m. to grade, and that I’ll have to do all of my planning (including the creation of all assessments and handouts for the week) on Saturdays, easily 10 hours or more of work.

This might all sound pretty extreme.  It is for this easily distracted, leisure loving, pass the salty-greasy foods girl.  However, my health and general-well being rely on it.  I  think I’ll start a new weight update from where I am now, and then at the new year, tally up the overall weight lost since March 2007.

Well, at least I kept this to three areas to work on and to give God in prayer.

I’d appreciate your prayers on this and for your general prayers regarding my health.  I’ve been working on it for five years and I still have a far ways to go.

🙂  Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Moment of Clarity

  1. Short circuit the thoughts that sabotage your goals. I started doing something some time ago. I started treating all my thoughts as plans. Even just a passing thought, I would say to myself, “Why would I want to plan that?” It has worked pretty well as a tool to keep my thoughts focused in the right direction.

    Thoughts lead to actions. Actions lead to habits. It all starts with thought.

    When you notice yourself making bad plans (having destructive thoughts) turn the desired outcome into a puzzle to be solved.

    For example, let’s say you wake up and think, “I’m so tired. Today is going to be so exhausting and horrible.”

    Why would you want to plan that sort of day? Then ask, “I wonder how surprised I will be when I realize that today just flew by quickly and easily.” Or, “I wonder how many times I will notice just how fun it is to go to work.”

    Presuppose success. “I wonder how many pounds I can lose this week.” “I wonder just how fast I can lose X number of pounds.” “I wonder how surprised I will be when I realize I enjoy eating healthy food WAY more than crap that poisons my body and mind.” “I wonder just how many different ways I can presuppose success.” (Sometimes you need to spark the creativity too)

    I do this. I can only vouch for me, but it doesn’t just work. It REALLY works. Using those sorts of puzzles won’t trigger your built in BS detector the way that “positive thinking” can. If you say “I’m so fit and healthy,” your brain says “BULLLLLLLLSH…………!”

    But if you create a puzzle for you brain to solve, and set the right thoughts in motion, then you’re creating the right plans.

  2. It is “funny” that you wrote some of the things you did, because I did some of those things a couple of weeks ago. I realize a huge battle is in the brain. It can be our best friend or our biggest enemy at times.

    🙂 Thanks, Fitch. I appreciate your advice. It is spot on.

Leave a Reply

