Sunday Song

Exodus 23:25
But you shall serve the LORD your God, and He will bless your bread and your water; and I will remove sickness from your midst.

Psalm 100
Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth. Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Revelation 5:13
Then I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and on the sea, and all that is in them, singing: “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be praise and honor and glory and power, for ever and ever!”

People spend their lives trying to figure out “why” they exist, wondering what their true purpose in life is. Similarly, I struggle with wanting to use my talents for God, yet seemingly having no direction on it. Just isn’t time, I guess.

But in reflecting on these verses, a truth that I often forget is staring straight in the face: It is not about me.

It is about God and why He has us here…to worship Him.

I was watching a television show last night and it occurred to me that there are folks that walk through life totally absent from a relationship with God. Now, I’m not naive enough to think everyone believes in God and follows Him. After all, I led a life apart from God for a long time (still prayed, oddly enough). However, I was struck by the thought of people walking around without someone to give their hurts and disappointments to, someone to whom they could be completely vulnerable, and by the realization that they go to bed at night without having given their decisions and such to God.

I don’t know why it hit me as it did. It made me feel a little sad that they can’t reap the benefits of worshiping God. I’m not judging them. People have the right and choice to choose God or reject Him. That is between folks and God. I just tried to imagine going through life without even giving God a second thought, and I couldn’t fathom it.

“Made to Worship”–Chris Tomlin

Leave a Reply

