Lost in translation

I refuse to channel Bill, but for a small fee, I will channel Eleanor Roosevelt.

I refuse to channel Bill, but for a small fee, I will channel Eleanor Roosevelt.

While on a trip to the Democratic Republic of Congo, a translator slipped up on a student’s question to Hillary Clinton:

The question, posed by a university student, had to do with President Barack Obama’s position on Chinese economic relations with Congo but reporters said the translator made a mistake and asked Hillary Clinton what she thought Bill Clinton’s position was.

Sometimes these things happen; however, Ms. Clinton could have been a little more understanding.   (It was the student’s intention for he translator to ask President Obama’s view on the topic.)

“You want me to tell you what my husband thinks? My husband is not the secretary of state, I am,” a visibly annoyed secretary of state said. “You ask my opinion. I will tell you my opinion; I’m not going to channel my husband.”

Assistant Secretary of State P.J. Crowley told CNN the question, as it was translated, “struck a nerve” because it suggested the former president’s position was of greater importance than the secretary of state’s.
(H/T:  UPI)

Geez…was her polyester pantsuit becoming itchy in the heat?  Crowley then went on to add, “If Africa, if Congo is going to advance, women have to play a more significant role,” he said.

That was a poor job of spin if you ask me.

Personally, I just think Ms. Clinton isn’t made out for the travel demands and doesn’t possess the people skills her position requires.  Clinton’s predecessors made it look easy didn’t they?

2 thoughts on “Lost in translation

  1. I think Clinton finally realized how well Obama has neutralized her.

    He has appointed special envoys all over the place diluting her importance. Rather than be in the Middle East or in Asia (husband Bill had NK covered last week), Hillary has been sent off to the “Dark Continent” which these days means the Secretary of State is left in the “dark” and out of the spotlight.

    BTW does Obama send Biden with her cause I haven’t heard anything about him either in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

