Michael Jackson

When I was a little girl, I loved to watch ANYTHING that had music and/or dance (if it had both…uber-happy).

I was given to watching a lot of variety shows (Sonny & Cher, Cher, Merv Griffin, Mike Douglas, etc…).  During that time the Jackson 5 was huge.  Bigger than life.  They had a cartoon and their own show.  I remember watching Michael Jackson and just wanting to do his spins.  I tried, but it was kind of hard to do on carpet…rub burns on the bottom of the feet and all.

I even dragged my dad to The Wiz, because I wanted to watch Michael Jackson dance.

Then came Thriller.  He lost me by that point.  I was on to my heavy metal world.  But, over the years I have watched the attention given to him.  Frankly, I never understood the hyper-appeal he had on fans (especially overseas).  He was a talented singer and dancer, but he was also given to quite strange behavior and appearance, alleged criminal behavior, and a childhood (from what has been made public) that was less than glamorous, opposite of what people expected and assumed.

He leaves behind children and family members, and I assume most, if  not all, loved him.  He was that little kid and that tragic adult.

This week Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett, and Michael Jackson have died.  My thoughts and prayers go out to their friends and families, for they are feeling the pain of loss.  Yes, really did pray for them.

This is my favorite Jackson 5 song.  I bring it up on YouTube once in a while and when it comes on the radio, I blast it and sing along:

Unfortunately, with the death of an icon for a generation (whether you liked him or not), there will come the endless reports, crying fans, and worship-like attention (just like Elvis).  I hate that part of our culture…I’ll just change the channel.

3 thoughts on “Michael Jackson

Leave a Reply

