Sunday Song

Isaiah 43:10-21

10″You are My witnesses,” declares the LORD,
“And My servant whom I have chosen,
So that you may know and believe Me
And understand that I am He
Before Me there was no God formed,
And there will be none after Me.
11″I, even I, am the LORD,
And there is no savior besides Me.
12″It is I who have declared and saved and proclaimed,
And there was no strange god among you;
So you are My witnesses,” declares the LORD,
“And I am God.
13″Even from eternity I am He,
And there is none who can deliver out of My hand;
I act and who can reverse it?”
14Thus says the LORD your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel,
“For your sake I have sent to Babylon,
And will bring them all down as fugitives,
Even the Chaldeans, into the ships in which they rejoice.
15″I am the LORD, your Holy One,
The Creator of Israel, your King.”
16Thus says the LORD,
Who makes a way through the sea
And a path through the mighty waters,
17Who brings forth the chariot and the horse,
The army and the mighty man
(They will lie down together and not rise again;
They have been quenched and extinguished like a wick):
18″Do not call to mind the former things,
Or ponder things of the past.
19″Behold, I will do something new,
Now it will spring forth;
Will you not be aware of it?
I will even make a roadway in the wilderness,
Rivers in the desert.
20″The beasts of the field will glorify Me,
The jackals and the ostriches,
Because I have given waters in the wilderness
And rivers in the desert,
To give drink to My chosen people.
21″The people whom I formed for Myself
Will declare My praise.

Earlier in the week, I happened upon this passage, especially verse 19.  It leaves no question that God is who He says he is.  His power is enormous and His love is unfathomable.  He is the same God now, as He was then, too.  I think that it is why this passage is so awesome.

It is my hope that you all realize His power and love at some point.

“How great is our God”–Chris Tomlin

4 thoughts on “Sunday Song

  1. I think about the “Sunday Song” for most of the week. I want it to be from a pure place, and I want it to be meaningful. Earlier in the week, I was looking for a Bible verse for something and ended up on Isaiah 43:19. It didn’t fit what I was searching for, but it spoke to something I’ve been dealing with in my thought-life for quite some time. There are no coincidences with God. I was meant to see that verse. For the Sunday Song, I expanded the passage, to try to be more contextually correct.

    I’m glad you got something from it. That’s all I want–for people to understand God’s goodness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

