Easter Sunday Song

John 3:16-17
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

II Corinthians 5:17-19
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!  All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation:  that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.

Easter of 1992, I went to the church I attended when I grew up.  My mom’s choir was singing a cantata that I remember liking a lot.  I was also watching a much-loved uncle dying from thyroid cancer.  He was, as I was not aware of at the time, a few weeks from death.  My life, as I had lived it up to that point, was a bit of a mess.

A few months before this time I was sitting in a bar asking God to give me what I needed to just not depend on that life anymore.  It was weird.  I’d been getting into bars since I was 17, and there I was 23/24 years old, and finally seeing just how much the life I had given God as a child was not consistent with the life I was living.  (Yeah, living how I saw fit made me a bit dense, eh?)  There is, of course, a lot more to my past, but that’s not really important.  What is important is that all of these things were swirling in my head as I watched my mom’s choir singing.

I looked up at the ceiling a lot that night.  I was trying to hold myself together, to be honest.  I clearly remember thinking, “Okay, God.  Take my life.”  I’d done enough damage.

While the past 17 years have been a roller coaster and there were times when I teetered on the edge of going back to that “Old Donna,” I realize just how far God has brought me.

His love, blessings, and favor are quite evident.  I’d have nothing that I have now without Him.  Anything I try to do myself just crumbles, quite literally.

Without God I have nothing, I am nothing, and I am headed toward lots of dark areas.

If you ever wonder about God’s place in your life, just ask Him to make Himself known to you.  He will do it.  Trust me.  What you do is between you and God.  He is very much like the father waiting to welcome his prodigal son home.

This song will always remind me of that Easter cantata:

“Your Love Broke Through”–Keith Green

Have a blessed and reflective Easter.  🙂

“He’s Alive”–Don and Wendy Francisco

4 thoughts on “Easter Sunday Song

Leave a Reply

