Biblical-type rant

Wooden Christian CrossI just heard a sobering statistic for people who identify themselves as born-again Christian-types like me.  Only one-third consult God and the Bible when making decisions, especially decisions invovling marriage, children, and such.  That’s akin to building your million dollar mansion on a landfill.

I’m not perfect and can honestly say that I’ve been one of those people.  I’m trying to not be like that, now.  It is hard, though.

As the world is just faltering morally and in every other respect, do you think maybe God is trying to remind us who is in control?  We need Him and should never feel like we can’t turn back to Him.  God doesn’t turn His back on us.  However, when we turn our back on Him, how can we be shocked when our faith is attacked by others?  Also, how can we expect to be blessed, having that abundant life that God promised?

I’m guilty of it.

Okay, I’ll get off my soap-box, now.

Revelations 2:1-7

1“To the angel of the church in Ephesus write:
These are the words of him who holds the seven stars in his right hand and walks among the seven golden lampstands: 2I know your deeds, your hard work and your perseverance. I know that you cannot tolerate wicked men, that you have tested those who claim to be apostles but are not, and have found them false. 3You have persevered and have endured hardships for my name, and have not grown weary. 4Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken your first love. 5Remember the height from which you have fallen! Repent and do the things you did at first. If you do not repent, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place. 6But you have this in your favor: You hate the practices of the Nicolaitans, which I also hate. 7He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will give the right to eat from the tree of life, which is in the paradise of God.

5 thoughts on “Biblical-type rant

  1. The counterpoint might be that non-believers, in time of severe stress etc turn to prayer!

    It is so difficult once on the path to follow it unfalteringly. That, I believe, is why He died for us and our natural sinfulness after all.

  2. Admiral
    Quickly, too.

    Sssteve
    You, know, when I took my teaching job almost 10 years ago, the first thought I had after I accepted the offer was, “I didn’t pray about this, first.” That has haunted me the entire time, especially as I’ve had health issues and problems with stress my entire time at the school. I’ve been blessed to see God work in those I’ve prayed for while at the school, but I’m still not sure it is where He wants me, and that maybe I missed His will.

    Rick
    I think we all are at some point. I know I am. The importance of seeking God’s required place in things has become more important to me, so I am more aware of it and my need for it (especially out of obedience). I was reading a devotional this week, unrelated to the stats I shared, that discussed how we only seek God when things are bad, but we make decisions (often important ones), during the good times, too. We need to seek Him and His place (which should be central) during those times, too.

    Noddy
    True. His grace abounds, even when we are unfaithful.

Leave a Reply

