Weighin’ In

a-acartFolks, I’d be lying if I didn’t say the past few weeks have been exhausting.  I had the crud virus that everyone seems to have.  Luckily, I only needed a week off from work and one round of antibiotics.  My co-workers and students haven’t been as lucky.  Add to it a funky blood test and retest for something nasty and I was d-u-n, done.  The parts of the blood test that didn’t come back telling me I had a disease were pretty good (got retested and was told no-news-is-good-news…no news so far).  I brought my cholesterol down from the low 200’s to 184 since September (all exercise and diet).  My doctor thought he had prescribed medicine and forgot to write it down because of the reduction.  I’m trying to avoid pills at all costs.  My bad cholesterol was good, so he’s not too worried about the number.  I’d like to bring it down another 10 points or so.  My blood sugar was 102.  At its highest, with some medication, I was at 127 a couple of years ago.  That medicine made me ill, went off of it, and decided that diet and exercise would be my route.  I’d like to bring that number down another 10 points, as well.

Exercise was another thing missing the past few weeks.  I skipped out on the trainer twice, because I felt so sick, and then only went when I had an appointment with him.  This week; however, I went three times, twice with Pinboy.  He worked me hard and I paid attention to the settings so that I could replicate them to a  degree when I went to the gym, yesterday.  Right now, I’m working on setting the incline of the treadmill as high as I can without losing my footing.  That burns a lot of fat.  So, I put the incline up to 10 last night at a speed of 1.7 and then 2.0 and managed to burn 207 calories in 15 minutes.  Then I went on the bike and set it just below what Pinboy does (still really sore from the night before…he kicked my butt), and I burned 220 calories in 25 minutes.  While he’s on vacation next week, I’m going to work on getting the treadmill’s incline up and see if I can handle it for 20-25 minutes by the end of the week.  I’d like to do more weights, but he wants me to burn a certain amount of calories per cardio/fat burning session.  So, I have to get that number up, so that I can do the weights, too.  The one thing I’m looking forward to the most is hitting that punching bag.  It is great for the arms, torso, and back.  There used to be a time when I could do standing kicks like kickboxers do…maybe I’ll get that agility back someday.

Since my last weigh-in of 2/28, I’ve lost a pound.  However, I can feel muscle beginning to form and I pretty much ate whatever I wanted while I was sick.

I’ll take the pound, gladly.  I go to see my endocrinologist Monday afternoon.  I hope he can tell me how I can battle my thyroid to “up” the weight loss.

I hope you all have a successful week!

P.S.  My mom’s mammogram and ultrasound are scheduled for Tuesday afternoon around 2 p.m. EST.  Please keep her in your prayers.  I can tell she’s pretty upset, so I’m trying to not stress her out or bug her.  Pray that I’m not a nudge.  I don’t want to make things worse for her.  Thanks.

6 thoughts on “Weighin’ In

  1. Great job! I will definitely keep you and your mom in my prayers. (I know this is stressing you as well.)

    My loss? Last Monday’s WW meeting – Down 6.8 pounds.

  2. Wyatt
    Don’t even weigh yourself for a week or two. You’ve got enough on your mind right now.

    NFO
    I figure if I just keep exercising and eating right for at least 90 percent of the time, I’ll be okay…someday. It will take forever, but it will be worth it.

    Kim
    It is very stressful. My mom is a 22-year lung cancer survivor and she’s had a lot of health problems. I have to believe that God didn’t bring her this far to allow her to get cancer again. All I have are my mom and dad and it is very hard to watch them age.

    Congratulations on an awesome progress report! YAY!

  3. Glad to hear that you are feeling a bit better and also that all that gym work is finally starting to pay off. Keep at it and with a bit of luck you will be kick boxing again this time next year 🙂

  4. It takes me a couple of weeks to work up to a good, nasty winter cold/whatever I had, this time. I was feeling pretty rotten for a good three weeks or so. However, I was very blessed this year. I usually get sick in September, January/February, and over Christmas break. This was my first real illness of the year.

    I can’t wait to hit that punching bag!

Leave a Reply

