Chef Clara

I love listening to my “elders” speak about the past and pass down their wisdom.  It is one of the things I miss most about my grandmothers.  Both of them lived through the Great Depression, and both of them were young wives and mothers during part of it.

While wandering around Yahoo, I came across a story about Clara Cannucciari.  She is a wonderful lady who, along with her stories of the Great Depression, shares cooking tips from the era.

This recipe sounds yummy, but I also enjoyed her brief stories.
(H/T:  Yahoo)

6 thoughts on “Chef Clara

  1. From what I could see there are seven episodes of about six or so minutes each. I watched all of them. She kind of reminds me of one of my grandmothers a little. *sigh*

    You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. My mom was telling me she saw this lady on GMA or one of the morning shows and she & Daddy had “Poor Man’s Supper” tonight, one of Clara’s meals.

    Cooking from scratch isn’t cheap anymore, but if more families gave it a try, they’d find it was still cheaper than cooking from a box or frozen package.

  3. She had two “Poor Man’s”. One was a meal and one was a feast. The feast was rice and lentils, cheap meat (which was a once a week thing), and some bread. The meal was cut up hot dogs, potatoes, and onion.

    She made homemade bread at one point, too. I think for her pepper and eggs recipe. (I watched all of them…I am a geek.) She did use potatoes a lot. However, it was one for four servings. That says something about our diet, eh? I remember my grandmother, who grew up in Canada, talking about how all they ever ate were potatoes and how sick of them she became.

  4. Mama and Daddy had the potatoes, onion, and kielbasa (she preferred that to hot dogs). I had a bite of it and it was good. Too bad James isn’t supposed to have much in the way of white taters. 😦

    Not to mention, potatoes aren’t quite on a poor man’s list of buyable things anymore. They’re over $6 for 5 pounds here now!

  5. Clara mentioned in another video that her dad would buy a sack of potatoes (don’t know the weight) for $1. She said that was expensive then, but he did it just the same. They did grow a lot of their own vegetables, so I guess where they saved, they were able to buy the potatoes. They didn’t have a refrigerator and she talked about how during the winter they’d bury food in the snow.

    My grandmother would have been considered affluent (relatively speaking), so I guess potatoes were something they could afford. I imagine, though, that plenty of people had root cellars and might have been lucky enough to have seed potatoes. (My grandpop used to grow them when I was little.)

Leave a Reply

