Firsts

I stole this list of firsts from Snigs.  It’s not my first time stealing lists from Snigs, though.  Heh.

1. Who was your FIRST prom date?
Never went to the prom.

2. Do you still talk to your FIRST love?
No.  He decided to “see”  my best friend.  Need I say more?  Don’t talk to either of them.

3. What was your FIRST alcoholic drink?
Gin, straight, no chaser, out of the bottle (I was 14 or 15).  No, I didn’t puke, but it made me wonder why people would drink something that smelled like cologne.

4. What was your FIRST job?
Candy striper.

5. What was your FIRST car?
The first one I was allowed to drive was my mom’s ’77 Ford Granada.  That sucker could plow through anything.  Loved it!  The first car I owned was a ’75 (I think) Volkswagen Rabbit–ORANGE!  Surprisingly, it had a lot of leg room.  My grandfather couldn’t drive anymore and I paid him a dollar for it.  It had tires that had dry-rot (totally lost tread on them on I-95 going 70 mph, and the radiator had a meltdown at least once a week).  So not worth the dollar, especially when the heater went and I had to provide blankets to my passengers.  Hey, it got us to the bars.

6. Who was the FIRST person to text you today?
No one.

7. Who is the FIRST person you thought of this morning?
Pinboy.  We had an appointment at 9 a.m., and I was thinking about how I better get something to eat and drink before he kicked my butt.  He was very nice to me, today.  I have a wicked bad cold and he knew I only had so much umph to give.  I still burned 600 calories.

8. Who was your FIRST grade teacher?
Mrs. Shipley.  She was great!  I loved her class.  She had a huge bell on her desk.  I once had a loose tooth about to fall out and she came over and pulled it for me.  I guess watching me gnaw on my big, green pencil was irking her.  She asked for permission, and I let her.  Got a quarter that night.  🙂

9. Where did you go on your FIRST ride on an airplane?
I went to Rochester, NY to visit my creepy relatives.  Trust me, they are creepy.  (Well, except for one of my cousins.)  One of my cousins bit her daughter in front of me.  Another one had a creepy boyfriend.  Then when I got older, into my late teens/early twenties, I found out one of them or their kids…whoever…became a prostitute.  Needless to say, I’ve never been back to Rochester and I will never go back…I hope.  Shame, too.  My Aunt Mildred was a sweet lady.  Her kids?  Not so much.

10. Who was your FIRST best friend & do you still talk?
I’d rather not say and no we are not.  See #2.  I learned of this information a few years after the fact.

11. Where was your FIRST sleep over?
Probably over one of my aunts’ houses.

12. Who was the FIRST person you talked to today?
My mom.  Can’t remember much, as I was still half asleep.

13. Whose wedding were you in the FIRST time?
I was supposed to be in my cousin’s wedding.  However, one of my other cousins said she’d refuse to be in the wedding if I was in it, so I ended up being a hostess.  Let’s just say if you grow up in the same small town, you know stuff and the stuff you say regarding the stuff gets back to the family.  Oh well.  We get along, now.  In fact, she gave me a bear hug on Thanksgiving.  She was also begging me to eat dessert.  Hmmm…

14. What was the FIRST thing you did this morning?
Hit the snooze button and took my thyroid pill.

15. What was the FIRST concert you ever went to?
Iron Maiden & Twisted Sister.  I was up front and it rocked!

16. FIRST tattoo?
Don’t have any.  I almost got one this summer.  There was a tattoo parlor on Broadway in Nashville.  Then I figured…what’s the point?

17. FIRST piercing?
My ears, when I was 12.  My dad took me (with mom’s permission).  I almost got a second ear piercing over the summer, too.  I was at the mall, walking around the food court, nothing was popping out food-wise (for some reason this food court had a Claire’s or something like it) and I thought I’d get my ears pierced…eh, decided to take a second lap around the food court and stopped at Chick-Fil-A.  (I started to remember what a pain it was to keep up with the stuff I had to do with the ears the first time around…I was hungry, too.)

18. FIRST foreign country you’ve been to?
Does Los Angeles count?

19. FIRST movie you remember seeing?
Lady and the Tramp or the Sound of Music.  Can’t remember.  It might have been Mary Poppins, come to think of it…was Poppins after Sound of Music?  We had a movie theater in our local mall and it didn’t always have recent movies.  Can’t remember, but I do remember seeing those in that theater.

20. When was your FIRST detention?
Fourth grade….lunch detention.  Probably for talking.

21. What was the FIRST State you lived in?
Pennsylvania.  I will count my month in an incubator.  No?  New Jersey, then.  Meh.

22. Who was your FIRST roommate?
My mom and I shared a room for the better part of my first 18 years of life.  (Except, off and on, about two to three of those years, after the age of two.)

23. Who do you think will be the next person to post this?
No clue.

3 thoughts on “Firsts

  1. I nearly said Lady & the Tramp as my first movie, but I couldn’t remember if that was before or after Benji. That was, um, awhile back.

Leave a Reply

