Happy Valentine’s Day

loveIt amazes me how one day–a day of love–can send people into a tizzy.  A day.  I’d love to celebrate this day in a romantic way, but God hasn’t willed that for me.  But it does make me think:  it doesn’t stop me from loving others, not just today, but every day.

But, back to romantic love:  Until a couple of years ago I used to be the type that worried about how others felt about me.  Would anyone ever love me?  My feelings weren’t given to worrying about if I was loving others; it was all about me.  (You know I don’t need to go on and on.)  What I was missing was that I was supposed to give my love unselfishly.  I was supposed to make “it” about the other person.  When I realized that, it made me understand the matters of love a little more.  I wish it was something I understood when I was younger, to be quite honest.  It is not about what that other person can do for you or show you; it’s about what you show and do.  It doesn’t mean that I don’t want to experience someone else’s love.  It would be nice for once in my life to really be loved.  It is just that I’ve come to understand that the love found in relationships can’t be selfish.  (Not talking about being a doormat, btw.)

That is my take on love.  While I wait on God, I keep learning and trying to understand probably one of the hardest things to understand.  But, I have Christ’s unselfish love to guide me.  No one can do for me what Christ did.  No one can ever provide for me, love me, or protect me like God can.  I can’t be those things to someone else, either.  However, God created human love for a reason.  Maybe it is so we can show some earthly grace, inspired by God, to others and be blessed by how they are blessed.

So, to you all I wish the following…

For you all to be loved so deeply that you know only God could have given it to you, because you know you don’t deserve it.

Lots of hugs and kisses.

And finally, for those of you who do find yourself on the lucky end of the universe, realize how blessed you are and don’t take it for granted.  Ever.

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!   🙂

8 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Belated happy Valentine’s Day to ya. No, I don’t take it for granted, and you’ll find it when you stop looking for it. At least that’s always been my experience.

Leave a Reply

