A bouquet with meaning…

adaisy3When people mention Valentine’s Day, most of us think of hearts and flowers.  I love flowers.  In fact, I worked at a florist for a brief time when I was in California.  However, I never knew the symbolism of flowers.  So, why not impress your sweetie with a bouquet and tell him or her just what all of those flowers mean…create a narrative of sorts as to why that person is special to you through the meaning of the flowers.  (Yeah, didn’t sound like a teacher, there, did I?)

Here are some examples of my favorite flowers.  Some might be more likely to be found in bouquets than others, but the creativity put into a gift like this will be greatly appreciated.  (You might want to steer clear of flowers with dark symbolic meanings.  Might kill the mood, otherwise.)

Azalea
Take care of yourself for me; fragile passion; Chinese symbol of womanhood

Carnations
Pink-I’ll never forget you.
Red-My heart aches for you; admiration.

Daffodil
Respect

Daisy
Innocence

Forget-me-not
True love; memories

Forsythia
Anticipation

Honeysuckle
Generous and devoted affection

Lavender
Devotion

Red Rose
Love; I love you

White Rose
Eternal love; innocence; heavenly; secrecy and silence

Tulips
General-fame, charity; perfect lover
Red-believe me; declaration of love
Variegated-beautiful eyes
Yellow-hopeless love

Now, go show your honey what you think of him or her through something more than the last bouquet at the grocery store.  Heh.

(H/T:  800 Florals & Pioneer Thinking)

tulips1

3 thoughts on “A bouquet with meaning…

  1. Which flower says, “I’m going to pretend that I don’t know you have allergies, so I’m giving them to you because I despise you and secretly I want to see your eyes turn red and watery and snot fly out your nose when you sneeze”?

    I’m such a romantic.

  2. Les
    I believe that would be the limberger cheese flower. Just a hunch, though.

    Just don’t send those to me, ok?

    Snigs
    Heh. I find marigolds an offensive flower, myself. (Dandelions mean that wishes come true…crazy, eh?)

Leave a Reply

