Sunday Song

I John 4:11
Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

Matthew 25:35-40
For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?  When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'”

Yesterday, when I was on my way back to my car after picking up some things at the store, I saw an elderly man with his wife.  He was doubled-over with what I assume was arthritis, trying to walk with a cane, until she could get a shopping cart to him to help steady his walking.

It quite honestly broke my heart.  It will sound weird to most of you (not to all), but I just wanted to walk up to the guy, grab his arms and pray for him and for healing.  I did pray for him as I walked by, and prayed again for him and his wife while I was putting this post together.

That incident made me think about and kind of pray about how wanting to help others and show them my love is always something that is on my heart.  I can’t really explain it.

As I was walking back to my car, after seeing that gentleman, I thought about how often I pray and just how powerful that gift is.

I don’t know how to square away what goes on in my heart, sometimes.  I just know and realize that I have to be more mindful of the needs of others when I pray.

“Give me your Eyes”–Brandon Heath
(HERE is the official video.  Embedding was not allowed, so I had to hunt for this one.)

3 thoughts on “Sunday Song

  1. Rick & Admiral
    It is hard to explain. I just wish I could do more; however, prayer is pretty powerful.

    I just seem to see so much pain and hurting and I feel so helpless most of the time. It makes me wish that I could just walk up to people and change their circumstances somehow.

Leave a Reply

