Sunday Song

Romans 6:16
Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey—whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness?

2 Corinthians 10:5
We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ

I would be misspeaking if I ever said I never struggle with the moral expectations of my faith.  I won’t get into specifics; it would bore you to tears.  However, there are “triggers” from my past that cause me to deal with sin.  Even though I teeter on a very thin wire, by God’s grace, He always steadies me.

You ever walk into an in-ground pool or a body of water?  It starts off ankle-deep, then you realize you’re chest deep, then all of a sudden you are finding there’s nothing under your feet and it is sink or swim.  That’s what sin is like.  Whether it be food, drugs, alcohol, sex, or things that we see as “the big” sins.  We start off just doing stuff and before we know it, we are enveloped by it, feeling like we are treading water, just trying to not drown in it.  Lucky for us, God is waiting for us to yell out a really loud, “help!”

Even though it is hard to do things God’s way, especially when modern pressures say it’s an archaic way, there is no other way.  Besides, His blessings for obedience are way better than any “good feeling” or thrill we get from sinning.

Trust me, I don’t say these things lightly.  I am always working on my own areas that need attention.  Thank God that He is patient.

“Slow Fade”–Casting Crowns

2 thoughts on “Sunday Song

  1. Thanks. I never put things up on Sunday to be preachy. They are things I deal with all of the time. Oddly, the sermons I listened to this morning (too fatigued to make it out the door) all dealt with obedience, especially in spite of societal pressures to adopt those norms of behavior. Guess I was on to something that I needed to learn (wrote my post last night).

Leave a Reply

