On pointe

a-crackrWowzers!  What a day!  A good one, if I say so myself.  I got to fulfill a childhood wish, one born out of a book I read (when I was young) about a young girl and her experience of playing Clara in The Nutcracker.

A couple of weeks ago, I purchased a ticket to today’s matinee of the Pennsylvania Ballet’s version of The Nutcracker.  I must say, it is all pretty magical and moving.

I was surrounded by many little girls with dreams of becoming ballerinas.  They were all watching how their feet took position as they walked, mindful that they “showed” others that they knew what they were doing.  It was so cute.  I was like that when I was little.  They were even sure to be dressed in their prettiest outfits.  Too much sweetness and cuteness…think I left somewhat diabetic.

The ballet was wonderful.  The dancers were great, the children in the ballet were very good.  The young girl and young boy playing the lead-children’s parts were confident and carried themselves superbly…they were awesome.  I couldn’t help but wonder how proud their parents must be.  Many parents and relatives were present for the performance.

The downside?  Listening to some parents talk about the politics of ballet.  However, all of the children were deserving of their opportunities, no doubt.

While waiting for the performance, I took some pictures of the Academy of Music.  It is a beautiful building that a cell phone camera just doesn’t do justice.

Last time at the ballet for Dracula, I was in the nosebleeds.

Last time at the ballet for Dracula, I was in the nosebleeds.

Today, I was in the third row!  Very nice seats.

Today, I was in the third row! Very nice seats.

I kept looking for the old guys from The Muppets.  No dice.  The Philadelphia Boys' Choir did make an appearance (bottom box), though.

I kept looking for the old guys from The Muppets. No dice. The Philadelphia Boys' Choir did make an appearance (bottom box), though.

This chandelier is absolutely stunning--recently refurbished.

This chandelier is absolutely stunning--recently refurbished.

Here is my favorite part of the ballet (This is the Bolshoi Ballet):

Then to just make my day even better, my best friend and her husband are visiting her family and I got to see her for a while this evening.  The hug of a good friend that truly cares about you is the best present ever!  I needed it today.

Hope you are all enjoying your holidays.  🙂

Leave a Reply

